Südgeorgien

The place to dream of for every wildlife, landscape or nature photographer

For many years, long before I decided to do professional wildlife photography, I dreamt of going to South Georgia, more for adventure than anything else. This wish lived on, morphed into wildlife photography and I finally decided to make it happen in 2003. No island in the world can be compared to South Georgia regarding its landscape, history, plant and wildlife.

But South Georgia makes you pay a high price. I do not mean the costs of travel, but its location in the roaring forties with drifting icebergs, high seas and everything which takes place in this latitude.

All the same, this island is for anybody who is interested in the polar regions and one unique experience after the other. Nothing will compare to it. Mountains up to 3000m right from the sea, calfing glaciers, colonies of more than 30.000 pairs of king penguins, beaches crowded with Elefant Seal, but also storms, fog and drifting ice as well as the long passage from the Falkland Islands.

Google Earth Link:

How to get to South Georgia

Generally speaking you have two options.

-with cruise ships which visit South Georgia often on the way to Antarctica

-with private yachts offering South Georgia as a special destination in their program

For me it was very clear, that I would go for the yachts, as I wanted to stay on South Georgia more than the 2 to 3 days the cruise ship are offering. I onyl can recommend this option for everybody who wants to photograph professional or semiprofessional or who is just a bit more adventurous. Depending on the yacht you can stay 3 to 4 weeks on South Georgia, that will give you enough time to do lots of photography on this island.

the passage from the Falkland Islands takes depending on the yacht about 5 days, the returning to the Falklands, head on against the prevailing winds, takes even longer, at least 6 days. Thats the price you must be ready to pay. 5 to 6 days on the roaring fourties, so second a peaceful moment where you do not have to cling to the boat with all legs and arms you have, storms, drifting ice of various sizes and for the most of the passengers sea sickness.

Around South Georgia everything is more relaxed, as there are enough safe anchorages.

I sailed with the Sarah W. Vorwerk .

The yacht offers a high degree of comfort and enough space for big equipments. Henk and Jaqueline are experienced sailers, who have been sailing for many years in these latitudes.

How is the weather like on South Georgia

Much better than its reputation. That is at least my experience from staying there for 4 weeks in late spring/early summer 2003. The crew of the Sarah W. Vorwerck told me that "my" month was pretty average according to their longtime experience.

The temperatures are about 0 to 10 degree celsius and we had rain from time to time. To be precise every 2 or 3 days a full low/high/low pressure cycle blows over South Georgia. This means sun, rain, heavy winds, sometimes snow. But long periods of bad weather are very rare and if the sun is shining the light is phantastic, the colors are vibrant.

What equipment do you need for South Georgia

The first thing you should check is, whether the yacht let you use their yachting garment. In these latitudes staying on deck is seldom comfortable and buying good sailing equipment for loads of money for just one trip is not a wise investment. On South Georgia clothing we use in winter/spring in the Alps is sufficient. You will not have very low temperatures on South Georgia. Good rubbber boots will be a very important part of your equipment. As South Georgia has no marinas or any other form of easy landings in the interesting bays, going ashore is done by a small rubber dingy. Aand you will wade through antarctic waters nearly every day. Moreover Wellies are the best boots you can imagine for muddy, stinking and (sorry penguins) shitty colonies. Just wade a bit in the clean antarctic waters and everything is clean and good smelling again. Next time I would by the best boots I can find upfront, even if the yacht supplies them as well!

Two pairs of gloves are recommended as well. One warm pair for the crossing (if you are on ice watch it can get quite cold...) and the landings with the dingy. the second pair should fit quite tight to allow to handle the camera. I used the gloves lowepro is selling and are still very happy with them.

 

A bit surprising for me was how important my worn out dry bag (bought a long time ago for canoeing) turned out to become (Ortlieb produces high quality dry bags (X-Plorer, X-Tremer). It maybe was the most important piece of my more general equipment.

All my camera equipment including tripod has to be carried ashore every day and it is very likely that a wave will hit the dingy once and everything gets dripping wet or you stumble when wading the final meters through the surf. I packed everything including my tripod, spare socks and gloves in the dry bag and everything was save, whatever happened. The bag stayed on the shore under some stones or the skipper took it back to the yacht. Perfect.

Moreover you should carry hiking or skiing poles useful for hiking expeditions to the mountains of South Georgia and they are essential for fending of aggresive fur seals!

What kind of foto equipment was useful on South Georgia

The animals on South Georgia are not shy. Sometimes you keep distance for your own safety (Fur Seals, Elefant Seals), sometimes for the sake of the animals (the rest). Very long lenses are only necessary for blurring the background. Standard wide angles can be used for animal photography and should be carried. Even very focused wildlife photographers should do some landscape photography on South Georgia and carry what they need for that.

  • [70 - 200 mm zoom, mit 1,4 Extender - good combination for nearly all situations
  • 24 - 70 mm wide angle zoom
  • 600mm, seldom used
  • Hasselblad X-Pan for landscape photography and the big penguin colonies
  • tripod
  • Flash, espacially for fill in situations
  • lots of film (no shop around for the next 2000 km) or storage media
  • what did I miss: medium prime tele lens 300/400 mm for working in the colonies
  • camera bag: I did not use my photo trekker, but combinations of the Field & Street System. Recommended, as I did not want to leave a photo trekker full of equipment around when love sich 3 ton Elefant Seals bulls are chasing competitors and penguin colonies are not clean places. I could carry everything (not the 600mm) and everything was handy!

How much time should I invest

With all the effort involved going there, 3 weeks should be minimum. In my case 4 weeks have been ok, but one week longer would have been nice!

Was there anything special to consider for photographers

South Georgia and sailing in the roaring fourties on its own is something special, but there was a difficulty, everybody will encounter on South Georgia.

 

Antarctic fur Seals!

 

For years their numbers are increasing and by now they occupy whole beaches pushing penguins, albatrosses and sometimes Elefant Seals away. During the harem season is the landing on beaches with dense colonies nearly impossible. Without somebody covering your back it is nearly impossible to go ashore, as the fur seals are very aggressive and defend their territory violently. With hiking/sking poles or with a tripod you can keep them at a save distance, but thats nearly impossible on your own. Risk must be avoided, as the next doctor is many days away.

As a photographer you want to be as early as possible ashore and come back as late as well. You have to convince fellow passenger the evening before, that getting up at 5:30 is a terrific idea, to help you going ashore. Not always easy!

any questions, just ask

If collegues or anybody else have any questions, do not hesitate to contact me using the contact form!

 

 

Martin Zwick

06.06.2006

 

 

Martin Zwick

06.06.2006

Südgeorgien

Trauminsel für Tier-, Natur- und Landschaftsfotografen

Seit vielen Jahren, schon lange bevor ich professionell fotografierte, wollte ich immer nach Südgeorgien. Damals mehr aus Abenteuerlust. Dieser Wunsch übertrug sich auf die Fotografie und ich lies 2003 aus meinem Traum Wirklichkeit werden. Keine Insel der Welt ist wohl mit Südgeorgien vergleichbar, was Landschaft, Historie, Flora und Fauna betrifft.

Aber Südgeorgien fordert einen hohen Preis. Damit meine ich nicht die Kosten sondern die Lage in den Roaring Fourties mit Treibeis und allem was dazu gehört. Trotzalledem ist diese Insel für jedem, der sich für die Antarktis und Subantarktis interessiert, eine Aneinanderreihung von Superlativen, die ihres gleichen suchen. Berge bis 3000m direkt aus dem Meer, kalbende Gletscher, Kolonien von über 30.000 Paaren von Königspinguinen, Strände überfüllt mit See-Elefanten aber auch Stürme, Nebel, Treibeis und eine lange wilde Überfahrt von Südamerika oder den Falkland Inseln

Google Earth Link:

  • Suedgeorgien.kmz<LINK naturbildportal.com/index.php?id=suche&tx_ppbildersuche_pi1[sword]=18621 >Gold Harbour </LINK> <br>(Hasselblad X-Pan, Fuji Velvia 50)

Wie kommt man nach Südgeorgien

Prinzipiell gibt es zwei Möglichkeiten.

- mit Kreuzfahrtschiffen unterschiedlicher Anbieter, die oft auch die Antarktis im gleichen Trip anfahren

- mit privaten Yachten, die Südgeorgien als spezielles Ziel anbieten

Für mich war klar, daß nur die Variante Yacht in Frage kommt, da die Kreuzfahrer, meist nur 2 bis 3 Tage auf Südgeorgien bleiben. Auch im nachhinein kann ich jedem der professionell oder semiprofessionell fotografiert diese Variante nur ans Herz legen. Je nach Yacht kann man 3 bis 4 Wochen vor Ort bleiben, was genügend Zeit ist, um dort intensiv zu fotografieren.

Die Anreise von den Falkland Inseln dauert je nach Yacht und Verhältnissen ca. 5 Tage, die Rückreise - gegen die vorherrschenden Westwinde - um die 6 Tage. Das ist der Preis den man bereit sein muß zu bezahlen. 5-6 Tage auf hoher See, keine Sekunde eine ruhige Phase, in der man sich nicht mit allen verfügbaren Armen und Beinen festhalten muß, Stürme, Eisgang, oft auch Seekrankeit.

Vor Südgeorgien läuft dann alles viel entspannter, da es genügend relative gute Ankerplätze gibt.

Ich bin mit der Sarah W. Vorwerk gefahren. Die Yacht beitet guten Komfort, viel Stauraum auch für umfangreiche Fotoausrüstungen und mit Henk und Jaqueline auch erfahrene Skipper, die nicht zum ersten mal in diesen Breiten segeln.

Wie ist das Wetter in Südgeorgien

Viel besser als sein Ruf. Das ist zumindest meine Erfahrung, die sich auf 4 Wochen im späten Frühjahr, frühen Sommer bezieht. Auch die Besatzung der Sarah W. Vorwerk haben mir glaubhaft versichert, daß unser Monat keine Ausnahme war.

Die Temperaturen schwanken zwischen 0 und 10 Grad, Regen gab es ab und zu. Genauergesagt, geht alle 2 bis 3 Tage ein Zyklus Hochdruck-Tiefdruck-Hochdruck über die Insel. Natürlich mit allem was dazu gehört. Aber lange Schlechtwetterphasen sind dadurch praktisch ausgeschlossen.

Wenn die Sonne scheint ist das Licht phantastisch, die Farben brilliant.

Welche Ausrüstung braucht man für Südgeorgien

Als Allererstes sollte man sicherstellen, daß Segelklamotten von der Yacht gestellt werden. In diesen Breiten ist es an Deck selten gemütlich und gute Segelkleidung für nur einen Trip zu kaufen absoluter Unsinn. Auf Südgeorgien reicht Kleidung, die man in den Alpen im Winter oder den Übergangsjahreszeit verwendet. Echte tiefe Minusgrade gibt es nicht.

Als wichtiges Kleidungsstück stellten sich Gummistiefel heraus. Da natürlich keine Anleger, Stege oder ähnliches in den interessanten Buchten vorhanden sind, setzt man mit einem kleinen Schlauchboot über und muß schon mal etwas durchs Wasser. Zudem sind Gummistiefel optimal für die schlammigen und verkoteten Kolonien. Einmal kurz ins Wasser und schon ist wieder alles sauber und geruchsfrei. Hier würde ich das nächste Mal eigene Stiefel kaufen selbst wenn die Yacht Gummistiefel zur Verfügung stellt.

Zwei Paar Handschuhe sind desweiteren dringend zu empfehlen. Ein Paar warme GoreTex Handschuhe für die Überfahrt, insbesondere die manchmal notwendigen Eiswachen und die Schlauchbootlandungen (die können dann im Kanusack bleiben). Das zweite Paar sollte eng anliegen und das Fotografieren ohne Einschränkung ermöglichen. Ich verwende die Fotografenhandschuhe von Lowepro und bin damit sehr zufrieden.

Für mich (damals) überraschend stellte sich mein guter alter Kanusack (Ortlieb macht Kanusäcke (X-Plorer, X-Tremer) als der wichtigste Asurüstungsgegenstand heraus. Täglich muß die Asurüstung mit dem Schlauchboot ans Land gebracht werden und es ist nicht sichergestellt, daß nicht mal ne Welle ins Boot schwappt oder daß man beim Aussteigen stolpert uns ins Wasser fällt. Ich packte meine Kamerataschen, das Stativ und trockene Socken und Handschuhe in den Sack und nichts konnte mehr passieren. Der Kanusack blieb am Ufer oder der Skipper nahm ihn zurück zur Yacht. Optimal!

Außerdem sollten Ski- oder Wanderstöcke mit ins Gepäck. Für Wanderungen sind sie hilfreich und zur Seebärenabwehr unentbehrlich.

Welche Fotoausrüstung hat sich in Südgeorgien bewährt?

Die Tiere auf Südgeorgien sind nicht scheu. Manchmal hält man freiwillig Sicherheitsabstand (See-Elefanten, Pelzobben) manchmal hält man den Abstand um die Tiere zu schonen (der Rest). Daher sind wirklich lange Brennweiten nur aus gestalterischen Gründen notwendig. Leichtere Weitwinkel können durchaus auch zur Tierfotografie vor Ort eingesetzt werden.

Die Landschaft ist manchmal phantastisch. Auch eingefleischte Tierfotografen sollten auf Südgeorgien zur Landschaftsfotografie greifen und sich bezüglich der Ausrüstung entsprechen eindecken.

  • 70 - 200 mm Telezoom, mit 1,4 Extender - optimale Kombination für fast alle Situationen
  • 24 - 70 mm Weitwinkelzoom
  • 600mm, diese Objektiv habe ich selten eingesetzt
  • Hasselblad X-Pan für Landschaftsfotogarfie und die großen Pinguinkolonien
  • Stativ
  • Blitz insbesondere als Aufhellblitz
  • und viel Filmmaterial bzw. Speichermedien
  • was fehlte: leichte Festbrennweite 300/400mm für das Arbeiten in den Kolonien
  • Kameratasche: ich verwendete keinen Rucksack, sondern Kombinationen vom Lowepro Field & Street Systems. Empfehlenswert, da ich bei tobenden 3 Tonnen schweren See-Elefanten keine Asurüstung herumliegen lassen will und außerdem Pinguinkolonien nicht die saubersten Orte der Welt sind. So hatte ich alles griffbereit (ohne 600mm!).

Wieviel Zeit muß man mitbringen?

Wer den Aufwand auf sich nimmt, quer über den Südatlantik zu segeln, sollte sich mindestens 3 Wochen gönnen. 4 Wochen waren in meinem Fall ausreichend, eine Woche mehr wäre auch nicht schlecht gewesen.

Was gab es an Besonderheiten für Fotografen

Außer das Südgeorgien und das Segeln in diesen Breiten etwas besonderes ist gab es eine Schwierigkeit, mit der jeder Besucher konfrontiert sein wird.

 

Antarktische Seebären!

 

Seit Jahren nimmt der Bestand laufend zu und mittlerweile sind ganze Buchten fest in der Hand der Seebären. Während der Haremszeit ist das Anlanden fast unmöglich. Ohne Begleitung, die den Rücken frei hält kann man manchmal nicht an land gehen, da die Seebären sehr aggresiv ihr Territorium auch gegen Menschen verteidigen. Mit Skistöcken oder in meinem Fall mit einem ausgefahrenen Stativ kann man die Tiere auf Distanz halten, nur allein gehts praktisch nicht. Risiken sollte man vermeiden, der nächste Arzt ist einige Tage weit weg!

Als Fotograf möchte man natürlich möglichst früh/spät an Land/zur Yacht. Das will aber nicht jeder. So bleibt einem nichts anders übrig als, Mitreisende schon am Vorabend zu überreden, um 5:30 aufzustehen, um als Begleitschutz zu fungieren.

 

Fragen, Antworten und weitere Informationen

Falls Kollegen, Interessierte oder auch nur Neugierige Fragen zu Expeditionen nach Südgeorgien oder in die Subantarktis haben, einfach die Kontaktseite verwenden.

 

 

Martin Zwick

06.06.2006